live-streamings

Don’t dream it – stream it!
The sohot stream team is prepared for all eventualities – from press conference to orchestra concert.

Distancing oneself from one’s own work and the question of how far rejection of one’s own work may go form the topic of discussion for this expert panel. The subsequent denial of authorship also raises questions about collecting in general. Under the direction of Martin Traxl (ORF-TV head of culture), art collector Dr. Brigitte Löw-Radeschnig, Dr. Silvie Aigner (PARNASS), Univ.-Prof. Dr. Alfred Noll (lawyer) and Dr. Ernst Ploil (lawyer) will discuss these issues.

Program
Klaus Lang: tönendes licht for organ and spatially distributed orchestra (2020 premiere) – 50′.
Commissioned by Wien Modern
Contributors
Vienna Symphony Orchestra
Klaus Lang: organ
Wolfgang Kogert: organ
Peter Rundel: conductor


Klaus Lang knows tunings across the entire history of music better than almost anyone else. But he will never explain his music with technical details. Titles reminiscent of koans by Zen masters, the often fairy-tale-like nature of his comments on works, the modest irony of some short biographies (“Klaus Lang likes to eat chocolate.”) are better suited to prepare listeners for the paradoxical listening experience of his extremely discreet but enigmatically seductive music.
His world premiere in last year’s festival had a quasi addictive factor; we are pleased that the increasing demand can be met not only with the help of the currently released vinyl edition, but also by three festival evenings on November 11 and 26, as well as – especially prominently – on November 19: The Vienna Symphony Orchestra (A = 443 Hertz) distributed in St. Stephen’s Cathedral and Wolfgang Kogert on the new giant organ (A = depending on the air temperature) will perform the world premiere of his full-length organ concerto under the direction of Peter Rundel.

Program
Gunter Schneider: im fluss (2020 UA) – 10′
Susanna Gartmayer: THEN (2020 UA) – 7′
Veronika Mayer: Farbzwang (2020 UA)
Peter Ablinger: Title (2020 UA) – 10′
Tamara Friebel: The Agility of Perspective Nearness in a lake of being (2020 UA) – 10′
Hannes Dufek: studies in intimacy II (the deep mirror) (2020 UA) – 12′
Contributors
Sophia Goidinger-Koch | violin
Klaus Haidl | guitar

For their brand new duo project Hedda, Sophia Goidinger-Koch and Klaus Haidl have clear principles:
1. only music composed specifically for this project in the 21st century will be interpreted.
2. the composers are asked to write for purely acoustic instrumentation and to pay special attention to the subtleties of the sounds and the sound language of the 21st century.
3. Hedda is dedicated to the cultivation of chamber and house music in the traditional sense: the small, mobile instrumentation makes it possible to perform almost anywhere and thus bring the music of our time back to the places where we live and directly to the people. (Klaus Haidl)

Live-Streamings

Don’t dream it – stream it!
Das sohot-Stream-Team ist für alle Eventualitäten gerüstet – von Pressekonferenz bis Orchesterkonzert.

Die Distanzierung vom eigenen Werk und die Frage, wie weit die Ablehnung gegenüber der eigenen Arbeit gehen darf, bilden das Diskussionsthema für diese Expertenrunde. Die nachträgliche Bestreitung der Urheberschaft werfen außerdem Fragen zum Sammeln allgemein auf. Darüber diskutieren unter der Leitung von Martin Traxl (ORF-TV-Kulturchef), die Kunstsammlerin Dr. Brigitte Löw-Radeschnig, Dr. Silvie Aigner (PARNASS), Univ.-Prof. Dr. Alfred Noll (Rechtsanwalt) und Dr. Ernst Ploil (Rechtsanwalt).

In der Pressekonferenz werden die Neuigkeiten aus dem aktuellen Gerichtsverfahren zu der Causa der angeblich gefälschten Arnulf Rainer Werke bekannt gegeben. Rene Rietmeyer, der die Fotovorlagen, mit denen Rainer arbeitete und nach wie vor arbeitet, schuf, spricht zudem über die Entstehungsgeschichte dieser Zyklen. An der Pressekonferenz werden er, Sarah Gold, die als Model in diese Kunstaktionen involviert war, sowie die an den Gerichtsverfahren beteiligt gewesenen Parteien und ihre Anwälte teilnehmen.

Am Podium:
Sarah Gold
Kunsthistorikerin, Kuratorin, Künstlerin

Dr. Herbert Eichenseder
Rechtsanwalt

Dr. Brigitte Löw-Radeschnig
Kunstsammlerin

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Alfred J. Noll
Rechtsanwalt

Programm
Klaus Lang: tönendes licht für Orgel und räumlich verteiltes Orchester (2020 
UA) – 50′
Auftrag Wien Modern
Mitwirkende
Wiener Symphoniker
Klaus Lang:
Orgel
Wolfgang Kogert:
Orgel
Peter Rundel:
Leitung

Klaus Lang kennt sich mit Stimmungen quer durch die gesamte Musikgeschichte so gut aus wie kaum jemand sonst. Aber er wird seine Musik nie mit technischen Details erklären. An Koans der Zen-Meister erinnernde Titel, das oft Märchenhafte seiner Werkkommentare, die bescheidene Ironie mancher Kurzbiografie («Klaus Lang isst gerne Schokolade.») sind besser geeignet, um auf das paradoxe Hörerlebnis seiner äußerst diskreten, aber rätselhaft verführerischen Musik vorzubereiten.
Seine Uraufführung im letztjährigen Festival hatte quasi Suchtfaktor; wir freuen uns, dass der steigenden Nachfrage nicht nur mithilfe der aktuell erscheinenden Vinylausgabe abgeholfen werden kann, sondern auch durch drei Festivalabende am 11. und 26. sowie – besonders prominent – am 19. November: Die im Stephansdom verteilten Wiener Symphoniker (A = 443 Hertz) und Wolfgang Kogert an der neuen Riesenorgel (A = je nach Lufttemperatur) spielen unter Leitung von Peter Rundel die Uraufführung seines abendfüllenden Orgelkonzerts.

Programm
Gunter Schneider: im fluss (2020 
UA) – 10′
Susanna Gartmayer: THEN (2020 
UA) – 7′
Veronika Mayer: Farbzwang (2020 
UA)
Peter Ablinger: Titel (2020 
UA) – 10′
Tamara Friebel: The Agility of Perspective Nearness in a lake of being (2020 
UA) – 10′
Hannes Dufek: studies in intimacy II (the deep mirror) (2020 
UA) – 12′
Mitwirkende
Sophia Goidinger-Koch | 
Violine
Klaus Haidl | 
Gitarre

Für ihr brandneues Duoprojekt Hedda haben Sophia Goidinger-Koch und Klaus Haidl klare Prinzipien:
1. Es wird ausschließlich Musik interpretiert, die speziell für dieses Projekt im 21. Jahrhundert komponiert wurde.
2. Die Komponist*innen sind aufgefordert, für rein akustische Besetzung zu schreiben und spezielles Augenmerk auf die Feinheiten der Klänge und der Klangsprache des 21. Jahrhunderts zu legen.
3. Hedda widmet sich der Pflege der Kammer- und Hausmusik im traditionellen Sinn: Die kleine, mobile Besetzung ermöglicht es, nahezu überall zu konzertieren und somit die Musik unserer Zeit wieder an die Lebensorte unserer Zeit und direkt zu den Menschen zu bringen. (Klaus Haidl)